My dear friend Jennifer offered to watch my girls while her Mother-in-law, a trained sugar artist, taught me a few things.   Gaynor Ernest, of Wales, has crafted more than 300 cakes of her own and is a very talented sugar artist.  I was more than willing to accept this generous offer and spent about two hours soaking up all the knowledge I could.  This was the flower I built from fondant while “in class” with Gaynor.

Not too shabby for someone with no rose petal, leaf, or calyx cutters.  I came home and practiced using her advice with gum paste this time, for round two.  As well as some wonderful tips from a fellow wordpress blogger and her you-tube “how to” videos.  Thanks Donna!  What do you think?  I need your feedback.  Am I any good at making sugar flowers?  Please leave a comment!

