As previously stated, I have been working on my Gum Paste flowers.  Two weeks ago my new niece was born and I was busy keeping her brother. My mother-in-law was busy at the hospital with her daughter and new granddaughter.  It was a perfect time to sneak in an Anniversary cake for her and her husband.  In the previous month I had sent out a number of questions about her likes: favorite color, flower, and fruit.  Papa Stan had no idea why I was asking such odd questions with everything else going on.  I got working on some yellow tulips.  I did make them a few shades darker as gum paste will fade with time.  They only took me about 2 1/2 hours total working time over about 5 days, to allow for hardening.  I did some hand painting on these with chalk dust and vodka, as well as a small amount of luster dust followed with steam to seal it all on.  The cake was a cinch, basic yellow with a milk chocolate icing colored like terra cotta.

However, the delivery was very hairy.  The cake itself was about 8″ tall.  I decided to deliver it when they were not home and leave a note.  So when they came home, the two love birds could enjoy the note and cake in each others company.  We had a tropical storm rolling through that day, August 20th.  We, Kaighty and I, made it and delivered it safely.  On the way home, a huge squall came through with a tornado warning.  It was pouring so hard that visibility was almost zero.  I was driving about 7 miles an hour in my Civic through 8″ of water.  It took us an hour to drive our normal 20 minute trip.  My knuckles were white when I finally pulled up in the driveway.  It was a close one!   Anyways, here are some shots of my handy work.  Enjoy.

